Poets logo

Hungry Scavenger

A poem about having no money to eat

By Jacob HaroldPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Top Story - October 2022
34
Hungry Scavenger
Photo by Maria Teneva on Unsplash

The world smells so good when you're hungry, like the malevolent phantoms in the cartoons I can feel the aromas pulling me towards these places. The intoxicating scent of Mexican spices, the comfortable aromas of the good old American burger, and the nostalgic smell of simple unhealthy foods from the fast food joints. But then those same feelings can turn into a miserable assault on the senses when I have no money to buy even a single item off the value menu. And it suddenly turns the feelings of comfort and nostalgia into jealousy and hate. I'm jealous of the people inside the restaurant. I hate how they throw away plates with food left over. My stomach hurts.

My stomach hurts, and I become just as bad as the bugs. Disgusting, shameless little scavengers looking for anything and everything to eat. As persistent as the cockroaches, I will take anything that was abandoned on the sidewalk, thrown away in the trash. I once ate a piece of cake that was used as an impromptu ashtray. The frosting was gritty with the burnt tobacco, but I was hungry. After around 3 days of not eating, I found an apple someone had used to smoke marijuana, I ate it whole, seeds and all. Someone had left half a pizza out in the sun just to turn hard and rancid. It had ants crawling all over it, I didn't brush them off as I ate the pizza turned hardtack. Extra protein, I told myself.

I'm not proud of this. In fact, it makes me feel gross to have done these things. But what am I supposed to do? Steal? Starve? I don't really think about it. Like the bugs, I only keep trying to survive off of whatever I can find.

Call me the Human Trashcan. A veritable superman. I'll eat anything that I can. My life never goes according to plan. But if you don't want your food, be it bottled or canned, I'll take it off your hands. I'm not proud of it, I don't feel like a man. But call me the Human Trashcan. I don't want to, but I will eat anything I can.

sad poetry
34

About the Creator

Jacob Harold

22 year old man trying to navigate an ever changing society. I write fiction, poetry, and opinion pieces mostly. Trying to learn Japanese and Spanish. profile pic downloaded from sound-dream on Tumblr.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Efulabout a year ago

    Good Job, I love your articles

  • Aulder Floer2 years ago

    Great. I want to give you credit.

  • Egg Lemmon2 years ago

    Great!

  • Zahid Hussain2 years ago

    Awesome writing, and here is nice advice, for hungry people, what should we eat when we are hungry, hope you enjoy reading this one https://popupskincare.com/what-should-i-eat-when-im-tired-or-hungry/

  • Hussrwn Eldenxiy2 years ago

    Really liked this article

  • Mg o2 years ago

    Thank you for sharing, great write up!

  • Bula Wali2 years ago

    Thank you for sharing, great write up!

  • Elizabeth2 years ago

    Really liked this article

  • This has broken my heart. I love this piece so much

  • dewayne cheyney2 years ago

    Really liked this article

  • Hussrwn Eldenxiy2 years ago

    I really like this article

  • Cai Qi Li2 years ago

    This one hits different. Enjoyed this piece, well done.

  • Maria Lahti2 years ago

    This has broken my heart. I love this piece so much

  • This one hits different. Enjoyed this piece, well done.

  • The frosting was gritty with the burnt tobacco, but I was hungry. After around 3 days of not eating, I found an apple someone had used to smoke marijuana, I ate it whole, seeds and all. Someone had left half a pizza out in the sun just to turn hard and rancid. It had ants crawling all over it, I didn't brush them off as I ate the pizza turned hardtack. Extra protein, I told myself. That part was so utterly real, it hurts so raw deep inside. I subscribed and hearted

  • This has broken my heart. I love this piece so much

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.