Poets logo

Humphrey

The joy of a foster cat.

By Hilda CarrollPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Humphrey

Humphrey looks grumpy

And sometimes he is

Does that look like a face

That would give you a kiss?

But do not be fooled

He’s friendly, I swear

Full of love and affection

He really does care.

A cuddlier cat

I have never known

And pictures galore

Now clog up my phone.

He follows me to the loo

And while I sit low to pee

He reaches up for a kiss

Times two, maybe three.

A temporary foster

Whom I cannot keep

I’ll really miss him at night —

On or beside me he doth sleep.

Due to a recent injury

He’s not permitted outdoors

An injustice against which

He regularly roars.

But that always passes

In time he relents

Comes sits on my lap

Morphs into the purrfect pet.

When his jaw has recovered

He’ll need a forever home

With a cat flap and cat lap

And a human, all his own.

He hates other cats

Dogs unknown as yet

Best an adult-only home

Where he’s the solo pet.

For sure I will miss him

He’s stolen my heart

I’ll shed a few tears

When the time comes to part.

Previously published on The Brain is a Noodle

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Hilda Carroll

Hilda Carroll is a writer, meditation teacher and interior designer who helps people create sanctuary in their homes and lives. Learn more at www.hildacarroll.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.