Poets logo

Human Doings

#VocalNPM

By Desirée GonzalezPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like
“Just be. After all, we are human beings, not human doings.”

They say imitation is flattery, but your best you is the old me.

See, they think I envy, but I’ve been there—your new life.

And it was great while it lasted, but that’s just it,

It’s fake-great externally but equally empty internally. I know you know what I mean.

And when you lose it, because you will,

since everything acquired is eventually lost - (that’s the “law,”)

I hope you ask yourself "what will I have left when it’s all said?"

but before it’s done. - When you have no one left to impress, when your accomplishments are your only measure of success,

Will you be free?

I see it ya know. I see the you behind the disguise, and you know why?

Because I’ve been there—hiding behind the mask that makes you look good on the outside.

Feeding your ego but starving your soul.

No amount of things you do or acquire fills the pain though. Trust me I would know.

Yet you smile as if it does, lying to yourself so completely you actually believe that you’re... happy

And maybe you are, but this all looks too familiar to me.

Happiness is fleeting, so I think it’s the joy that you’re really trying to chase

And this makes me sad.

Because in a way I’m you. Yet you criticize me...

Ignorance is bliss and awareness is hell, so no matter which way you go though, we’re all just souls having a human experience.

Difference is, some of us are just human doings instead of human beings.

And as they say, "gain the world and lose your soul or gain your soul and lose the world."

I guess I've done both.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Desirée Gonzalez

26-year-old New Yorker living in California, just trying to navigate this road trip we call life & using radical honesty along the way to heal from the inside out. Sharing my truth in hopes of it inspiring and/or helping you too!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.