Poets logo

HOW DOES THE FLOWER SMELL

If I Knew

By Nyutu WoodsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
HOW DOES THE FLOWER SMELL
Photo by Weronika on Unsplash

I close my eyes and picture a flower

It's lovely sepals are silky and smooth

Delicate and precious

As the smell of morning dew descends like an injured snail

A slow, sweet misty crawl from it's graces

To give a reviving therapy to my thoughts and feelings

Because all I can do is imagine

How does the flower smell

In my isolation and loneliness

It goes without scent

It is uncontacted

Reminding me of a perfume whose fragrant has vanished

As for me, it is completely inviolable

Because I see he flower but can not touch it

I can only stare and wonder

Flower, can you see me staring at you

Do you know that I see you

Are you aware that I know not your aroma

Of whether it is of love or hate

Or maybe it has the pleasant smell of tomorrow

The smell of a freedom I used to know

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.