Poets logo

How Does One Live?

What does it mean to live?

By Matthew MccaheyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
17
How Does One Live?
Photo by Fabio Comparelli on Unsplash

I was a Deadman walking long before I met you

I’ve been running on borrowed time

It had to end eventually

I just couldn’t bring myself to drift away

I couldn’t bring myself to say goodbye

No my goodbye is the same way I lived my life

Gone in an instant

Off to explore the world without a word

Because saying goodbye meant it was over

And I wasn’t ready for that

So I ran like I always do

I would go to the ends of the earth to hide away

To die in my own blissful peace

Thats where I hoped my time would end

But against my wishes my hourglass was

turned over

The time reset

Here I stay, a man who only ever prepared for death

How does one manage to live?

What does it mean to live?

These are the questions I avoided for many years

But I cant anymore

Yet I still don’t know the answers

I’m not sure if I ever will.

sad poetry
17

About the Creator

Matthew Mccahey

I want to use stories and life experiences to allow others to be open about their own.

https://linktr.ee/Authormack729

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Martha Agnesabout a month ago

    I love this! It is sorta like my own stuff. Ha! ;)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.