Poets logo

'How Are You Doing?'

Becoming A Woman Pastor

By Sarah LouisePublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Like
'How Are You Doing?'
Photo by Artem Kovalev on Unsplash

"How are you doing?"

"Busy” I say

afraid they'll find

out what I did today.

What I did wasn't bad,

but would it make them happy or

would it make them sad?

Would they approve of my call,

approve of my gift?

Or would they say,

"boy, she's really starting

to drift..."

I want to serve Jesus,

write, pray, and teach

But they'll tell me a woman

isn't allowed to preach.

"Go Home" They'll say,

then laugh, and clap for each other

at the end of the day.

I want to submit,

want to honor my place

Does following my call

really bring disgrace?

I didn't seek this out,

Didn't pursue the stage.

But locking my tongue

feels like locking a cage.

It's all about Jesus

It's about His fame

It's about teaching and speaking

bringing glory to His Name.

"One in Christ." Paul says in Galatians (3:28)

But we limit each other

based on human relations.

social commentaryinspirational
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Louise

I have words written on my heart. It sounds cliché, I know, but I do. After writing for over two decades, I figure it’s about time to send some of these words out into the world. Welcome to my humble beginnings.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.