Poets logo

Hot Water Bottle

... a love poem of sorts!

By David IrelandPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

I’m gonna be your hot water bottle

On a long, cold winter night

I’ll be your bed-sock baby

When we turn out all the lights

You say your colder than me

But I know it's just not true

I’ may be a little older than I’d like to be

But I’m still a young buck when I’m with you

Add a little bit of Lithium Grease

To oil all the knuckles and the joints

‘cause I’m finally falling apart

’Til Magdalene anoints

My hands don’t work like they used to do

So I don’t open the jar

My feet don’t walk where they oughta go

So I tend not to stray too far

And the things that used to go up alright

Are the things that are bringing me down

But I don’t stay down for long

With you around

Singing your crazy songs

I’m gonna be your hot water bottle

On a long, cold winter night

I’ll be your bed sock baby

When we turn out all the lights

When you get cold feet

I’ll warm you up and take you to the heights

When the sleet and rain’s pounding in your brain

I’ll prove to you that lightning strikes in the very same place at the very same time

Over and again…

love poems
Like

About the Creator

David Ireland

David Ireland is a writer, broadcaster, musician and artist.

David also works under the pseudonym Cas Greenfield and with the Electro band Kuhl

Follow David's work as Cas at www.casimirgreenfield.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.