Poets logo

Hospital

A poem on my struggles with Dysautonomia

By Abbey SmithPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

I wrote this poem a while back, but I've decided to post it in honor of October being Dysautonomia Awareness Month. POTS is something I've struggled with for over seven years now. It has taken a lot from me, but it has also given me so much more. From it, I've found strength and perseverance, family and friends that love me and fight with me, and a different outlook on life. I'm not sure if this condition will ever completely go away, but I know that I am healing, and I am getting better. I can only hope and pray that one day "POTS" won't be listed under my "medical conditions" list at the doctor's office. I hope you enjoy this poem!

My chest hurts

my heart starts to race

And my body can’t keep up

with its quickening pace.

I fall unconscious

my body slamming on the ground

I know once I wake

my head will start to pound,

My head hits the ground

bouncing like drum sticks on percussion

And now I have what seems to be

my millionth concussion.

I awake and look around

panicking, not sure of where I am

Until I see a nurse telling me,

“Don’t worry, you’re in a hospital, ma’am.”

But the doctors here

don’t know how to help me

They say all they can do

is run x-rays and a head CT.

It has now become my job

to help them connect the dots

To understand the condition I have

otherwise known as POTS.

I will finally break free

from this jail of a hospital

Only to live in fear that soon

there with be another fall.

*If you enjoy my stories, leave me a tip, or even share my work on social media! Any support is appreciated. 😊*

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Abbey Smith

I am a 21-year-old aspiring writer. I find joy in writing about things I‘m passionate about such as mental and physical health as well as ending the stigma surrounding suicide and mental illnesses.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.