Poets logo

Hopeless Romantic

for the hopeful

By Autumn EasleyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Hopeless Romantic
Photo by Farrinni on Unsplash

Many people think of me as a hopeless romantic,

And to be honest, I’m not that surprised,

For I have seen far too many movies,

And read many books, all differently sized.

I have this idea that love is beautiful,

And I often hear that that is nonsense.

People say divorce rates are high,

But if I were able to put in my two cents,

Maybe we need to go back to when,

The words ‘I love you’ had substance.

You didn’t say it because you were bored,

You didn’t throw the word around when you had the chance.

Saying those three little words was special.

You waited until just the right moment.

So, maybe I do have this idea of love,

That is hard for others to implement.

But, I’m okay with that because that means,

I have this idea of love that is amazing.

Going to a coffee shop, twirling in the streets,

Going to the park and holding hands on the swing.

Catching fireflies and watching the clouds go by,

Dressing up, and going out on the town,

Dinners, dancing, singing in the car,

Laughing loudly with the windows down.

All of the simple things like holding open a door,

Catching them staring at you, eyes full of love.

The admiration, the completeness, the adventure

The adoration, all of these feelings you’re so full of.

I want that and yes, that makes me a hopeless romantic,

But, I’m the most hopeful hopeless romantic you will ever meet.

performance poetry
2

About the Creator

Autumn Easley

Writing has always been therapeutic to me. Poetry helps me organize my thoughts and feelings and writing fiction has kept me sane when the real world feels like it's crumbling down. Thank you to anyone who supports my writing. <3

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • A. Nguyen2 years ago

    As a lover of love, this is it! All the simple things that just mean so much. Love never changed, people did and additionally the last line was wonderful

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.