Poets logo

Hope Theory Poetry

Poem #2

By JulithaPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
The dog.

Dear My adopted parents,

Coz look what I did! Look what I did all by myself, Ma,

Nah I swear didn't steal that car,

Stop thinking I'm doing something wrong,

Coz I was just kicking it, writing poetry or something writing a song,

I’m not even that bad, ma why?

In retrospect I wouldn’t hurt anybody I wouldn’t touch a fly,

I promise I’ll keep it down, hey guess did you know I be loud.. but Sometimes I get a little shy?

Mum, Did you know at 21 something terrible happened and I was almost going die? But I didn’t.

I made it to 12 grade, I didn't graduate but at least I stayed,

The teacher said I’m actually really smart, oh and I can paint too have you seen my art?

Homeless or graduation,

Or get crossed off the list for no participation,

One brain on Brosa Avenue,

All my friends say Like your moving house again,

Yo when haven't you?

Horny little boys your a hoe, oh so you have a free house truuue,

Damn, where were you ma why the fuck am I so mad at you!

I got the kitchen renovated, pulled up the floors,

I clean my mirrors and I wipe down my doors,

Spotless, so fresh so clean,

My teeth are pearly white they gleam,

Why don’t you come and join my team?

Look what I did Ma, look what I did all by myself,

I take my vitamins, trying to look after my health,

I got love, books and Soul kinda wealth,

Nah, I can't come to the city I don't have Money, fuck,

Julitha, everyone was there it was lit, you suck,

There’s this rumour - Did you actually strip on a pole for a buck?

But come on Julitha, how hungry were you really?

Ay Ms privileged It's not a Steven Spielberg movie,

Look ma, I still have the same friends from high school,

I bought a fan so in summer I can keep cool,

Look what I did ma, look what I did all by myself,

I don’t take drugs, I don’t eat bugs, and now I work full time,

Nah I’m not crying I swear I’ll be fine,

Oh I’m sorry you what? You didn’t ask.

I’m stronger than strong, has it really been that long?

Hey ma, remember we were gonna go for coffee on my 18th,

Well I’m gonna be 22, you still haven’t called true?

I’m so confused, what did I do?

Why did you leave me? coz I haven’t a clue.

Hey mum guess what, my favourite colour is still orange and gold,

People tell me I’ve got a big personality and that I’m bold,

I’m really funny too or so I’ve been told,

You should let me tell you a joke one day,

Maybe I can be a stand up, don’t worry about a ticket I’ll pay,

I’m being serious, don’t laugh at me,

Ma, look I have no bruises since I left, see?

And now I get to eat breakfast, lunch and tea,

I’m not hungry anymore, I put on 10kgs,

I won’t put all the blame on you, coz I know that’s not fair,

I mean I know Daddy wasn’t there, and that was the same for the Fresh Prince of Belair.

Look I would I did Dad, look what I did all by myself,

I made it to the age of 22,

I met a guy and he beats me up just like you,

He opens the door, he pulls out my seat,

After a long day he messages my feet,

After all the chaos we slow dance to the beat,

Look what I did dad, look what I did all by myself,

All the places I’ve been, boy do I have a story to tell,

And you know to be heard I never have to yell,

And my brown sugar body isn’t for sale,

I’m not sorry you didn’t want a daughter,

Stop it! Don’t put my head under water, I’m gonna drown.

I have another ear infection and you know I can’t swim!

No dad, I don’t wanna drink that Champagne up to the brim,

It makes my stomach ache,

Can we watch Harry Potter? I really like him,

Wait Why, are you turning the lights down dim?

Ouch daddy, your hurting my legs, ew what is that?

I wanna have a shower before any of your other special friends come back,

I don’t get why I’m sexy, my chest is still flat,

I wanna go play in the trees,

Hey, guess what? Today I almost got stung a bee,

I still get nightmares, I gotta wipe the sweat off my monobrow,

That ended in October 2008, that will never define me now,

Look dad, look what I become?

All the things I’ve accomplished and all the mistakes undone,

I stood up at 11 years old, gave up everything and I sat in the cold,

I stood up at 14 years, ran away underweight and I ate all my fears,

I started a new life at 17, found a bunch of artists that let me leans,

I had to fight for the fight, but I still got dreams,

I messed with the wrong crowd to hold me tight, but I still got dreams,

I had no food, make $5 stretch to the right, but I still got dreams,

No electricity or gas sitting in God’s light, but I still got dreams,

I came from poverty, no one can read and write, but I still got dreams,

There’s a war going on, my eyes hurt coz the suns so bright, but I still got dreams,

I can’t sleep, coz shooting people that look like me gave me a fright, but I still got dreams,

Stop feeding the dogs chilli powder, coz they’re gonna bite, but I still got dreams,

And I’m getting tired of pushing that man off me with all my might, but I still got dreams,

Stop asking me why I don’t look like that family coz they’re all white, but I still got dreams,

Don’t you dare deprive me of my DNA, my identity and my family that’s my birthright, but I still got dreams!

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Julitha

I like to write short stories and poetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.