Poets logo

Hope springing eternal

It’s more than wishful thinking

By Jan PortugalPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
4
Hope springing eternal
Photo by Irene Ortiz on Unsplash

When I think of all the near death experiences I’ve been spared in my life. I know there are Angels looking out for me. It keeps me humble and appreciative, like I have to do my best in life to deserve them. As if I made some kind of bargain before I came here. I just hope I figure out what it is before I return, unaccomplished.

I'm not a pray-er per say. I do hope though, I hope and pray man finds the right course before humanity becomes extinct. Like the animals left in it's keep. I heard words growing up either from a Bible quote or someone saying it that “Man shall not destroy himself.” Although I'm beginning to doubt it. I also heard “Mutate or Die.” Which I firmly believe. And this gem to be remembered always. “The Kingdom of God is within.”

Then there is the wisdom printed on bathroom stalls. i.e. “Look back not in anger or ahead in fear, but around in awareness.” Sounds like something Bobby Kennedy might have said.

These wise words come from some source, sent out as markers, guideposts to help us navigate this tumultuous life. The one we've all been cast here to play in without a script or director. Some become stars others just remain bit players.

********************

A Poem of Hope

Ah...Hope the slippery slope

The gateway that leads to

anywhere but there

Always hovering just out of reach

Beyond what we know yet comfortably preach

where do we go when we hope

Conjuring possibilities, solving the crisis

Seeking a path deciding which fork

Where is that place we call hope?

The heart?

The head?

Our Source?

performance poetry
4

About the Creator

Jan Portugal

I love the adventure writing takes me on. I enjoy the idea of sharing them with an audience. I hope you enjoy my visions too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.