Poets logo

Hope from Desolation

A love lost and found

By Andy "Zordork" PricePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Hope from Desolation
Photo by Ahmed Hasan on Unsplash

It stalks me in the dead of night

A sleepless night of pain and hate

A hate of my very soul

For my unknown mistakes

Mistakes? Or misinterpretations?

Because of rose tinted sight?

Was it rose tinted sight?

Or a charade played by an unfeeling fate

I call to death, but he does not come

My will to live is all that he takes

The cold unforgiving light of day brings me no comfort

As I wander in this wakeless daze

A living death

If the earth would just swallow me

All my problems would end

As I was engulfed in hells burning lakes

But could my soul rest

Knowing the pain I have caused

My family and friends of sort

Love conquers all

What's the use of love?

As you breathe your dying breathe

Their is someone for everyone

So we are informed by destiny

And out of my despair she came, like a glimmer of light

To save me from my tormented mind

To restore my meaning of life

To take away my yearning for death

But false guilt from both our pasts

Haunted us and stole her away

Building and fuelling the desolation

Now stronger than before

Life's neither friendly nor kind

Life is a disease that has no cure

Do we control our future, our present, our past?

Or are we just pawns to something greater far more

I guess will never know

Not till we breathe our last

But yet in the deepest darkest annuls of my heart

Hope still flickers

In this heart that has so much to offer

If that hope should die

My heart would turn to stone

And my life be blind

Love is a ruthless killer, cold and unforgiving

So I've been told

But love is only a child

That needs to be nurtured and held

Did I move to fast, to quick, to soon?

The scares we both hold from traumas past, run deep

It would be so easy to flee

But the devils of our shattered dreams

Of a past now dead and gone, must be denied

Together we could conquer these demons we both hold

But apart, they will linger for eternity, growing stronger

Till our living souls are expelled

One day she will learn to trust in me

And find safety in the knowledge

That I am hers till death do us part

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Andy "Zordork" Price

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.