Poets logo

Hope

A Poem

By Liana HewittPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

A tear drop races down my face.

Another closely following it.

Who will be the winner in the race to oblivion?

The seconds tick down.

Will it ever end?

The pain that has led me here.

A droplet of ice water splashes down next to my tears.

The condensation from my glass joining the race.

This drink will take me away.

Take me away from the pain.

Take me away from feeling.

Is nothing a feeling?

The drink feels bitter on my tongue.

As bitter as the sting of your words.

As cold as the disapproving look.

I flinch at the unsaid words.

The echoes of what wasn't said ringing in my ears.

I signal for another drink.

It's delivered quickly with a small smile.

A warm hand touches my shoulder.

A kind word is whispered into my ear.

Something sparks within me.

Something new.

Hope.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Liana Hewitt

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.