Poets logo

Honey Bee

The ways my body embraces you

By Nick GrahamPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Honey Bee
Photo by Oziel Gómez on Unsplash

230 times a second,

A honeybee flaps their wings 230 times a second,

What I meant to say is a honey bee flaps their wings

As fast as my heartbeat sings when our eyes lock gaze.

It's a hummingbird rocket race to love,

And I hope I am in first,

Because it feels like I'm always out of breath.

230 times a second,

A honeybee flaps their wings 230 times a second,

What I meant to say is a honey bee flaps their wings

As many times a second as images of you flash through my mind.

Pictures filled with words of affirmation and smiles,

A pictionary photo with you front and center,

A letter signed, I love you.

230 times a second,

A honeybee flaps their wings 230 times a second,

What I meant to say is a honey bee flaps their wings

As often as your voice echoes through my mind.

Whispering words of sweet nothings

Into my good ear to ensure you are heard,

I love hearing your mind.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Nick Graham

My life has been full of dichotomies, Trauma, but love. Change, but safety. Abandonment, but role models. These differences are shared in my writing and poems with a unique perspective.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.