Poets logo

Honey

October 2019

By N. ThomasPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Honey
Photo by Daily Slowdown on Unsplash

Tennyson said it's better to have loved and lost

than never to have loved at all

but I believe Smokey when he said that sometimes

a taste of honey's worse than none at all

because you weren't ready to catch me

when I met you and took a hard fall

I found what I dreamed of for so long

and thought it was finally my turn

so head over heels, I offered you my heart,

but it was rejected and returned

I pride myself on being a lifelong student,

but that was a difficult and painful lesson learned

And it would be easier to hate you

and place all the blame

I almost wish it would have crashed and burned

and gone down in flames

but you never tried to hide, in word or deed,

that you simply didn't feel the same

For a second I could taste it,

and it was sweet, and I was satisfied

Instead of lying awake daydreaming

I was sleeping peacefully by your side

but now I'm left hungry with a bitter aftertaste

from having to accept that my love was so easily denied

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

N. Thomas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.