Poets logo

Homeward

The Journey Home

By Noah Servant-Of-AllPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

There’s an old county street

Where the sky is bluer than the sea.

It's my road

It's the place of my childhood growth.

Although some of me wishes it weren’t so,

I know this place is not my home.

I pray my soul be found,

The day I give ol’ 3910 one last look,

Homeward bound.

There’s a plain man and his wife

Who’ve always been a sight for sore eyes.

They’re my folks

They’ve taught me how to bear His yoke.

Although some of me wishes it weren’t so,

Where they are is not my home.

I pray my soul be found,

The day I embrace ‘em one last time,

Homeward bound.

My brave young companions

Are startin’ to look a lot like the Champion.

My heart, for them, breaks

But I know I’ve shown ‘em what it takes.

Although some of me wishes it weren’t so,

Where they are is not my home.

I pray my soul be found,

The day I wave goodbye,

Homeward bound.

With that, homeward bound am I now.

And because I don’t want to see you grieve

The following 14 words with you I leave.

“Don’t worry ‘bout me when I die.

These ruffled wings will fly just fine.”

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Noah Servant-Of-All

My wife & I have a knack for writing and we dream of using this knack to support ourselves!

If you enjoy our content here & would like to keep up with us, check out our Facebook & Instagram. There you'll see our sketch art, paintings, etc.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.