Poets logo

Homesick

I miss it up there

By Beautiful_DisasterPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Homesick
Photo by Calwaen Liew on Unsplash

look up to the stars

as I exhale ribbons of smoke.

The stress of life is taking its toll on me.

Sometimes I wonder.

Can God hear me up there?

Do the Angels hear me crying?

Does anybody care?

Anybody?

I close my eyes and begin to picture

myself up above the world so high.

I remember that song.

I always took it literally

And wondered just how I could get up there

Away.

From here.

Have you ever felt like you just don't belong?

Like your soul is dying because it's breathing

the air of an unknown planet.

Like everyday pieces of you disintegrate?

How do I feel homesick when I'm already home?

How do I miss something I can't really remember?

As I inhale the last of my cigarette I look down

at the earth and see the dirt that I am made of.

And I just can't help but think

How much longer before I'm free.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Beautiful_Disaster

I write what I feel. I write more when I’m sad.. There’s no harm in that is there? Sometimes we just need a little honesty.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.