Poets logo

Homemade

The Little Things Of Family

By Leiann Lynn Rose SpontaneoPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
They Never Complained

My family has always had it hard. Not a darn thing has ever been handed to them. But, they always provided for me. Meet my family… The Spontaneo family.

Food was always provided.

The men? Always in the huge garden, tending to the tomatoes, peppers, etc. We always had a large garden salad on the table. They would sell big bushels for $5.00! How much do you think a bushel of tomatoes would cost in a grocery store? Tomato sauce was also made from the garden and canned. Then, the men would go raspberry picking. Yep. The little things.

The women? Made their own dough and used the good ‘ol crank pasta machine. They provided plenty of pasta. They froze the raspberries then made fresh raspberry squares in the middle of winter. Yep. The little things.

Sometimes, on Sundays, we would have guests. Often, there were people who would outright invite themselves. But, they never left hungry. Yep. The little things.

Our house was always clean. The men and women all did chores. Yep. The little things.

Even now so far apart, not knowing where located

I had to leave you I did not want to

But I needed to leave you

So as not to be a burden

You did everything for me

But I needed to grow

I needed to learn

How to cook

How to clean

Too many toxics

You know what I mean

I never had a boyfriend

Or a husband to provide

Like the girls in school

I have to work myself

You’d always take me to restaurants

To get me out of the house

To give me a break

Remember Mehlman’s?

Roast beef sandwich with gravy

It just isn’t the same

Thank you for the car you bought me

I sure wish I had it now

Telecommuting is OK

But now I am confined to a home office

A chair

4 walls

Remember going to Kroger’s

Picking up a gallon of wine

Only you understood it was healthy

Only the best

Carlo Rossi California Burgundy

Back when I had the body

A slim waistline

Would you even know me now?

I have changed so much.

My face looks ugly

Rarely make-up

My hair a mess

I have let myself go

I miss straightening your collar

I miss telling you too pose

I miss telling you to make a muscle

I miss fixing your hair

I miss being called princess

I miss watching television with you

We played Checkers

A few times poker

Remember going to the mall?

We’d sit on the bench and discuss

Who was big and who was small

People in general would never leave our family alone.

We minded our own business

You always loved me for who I was

When all others made fun of

I no longer go on dates

Where I live it is bone dry

The men are either gay or married

Not even a hello

Not even a hi

My dream is to marry one day

And have all loved ones there

To prove I am going to be OK

I know how you worry

I get worried sick about you also

But I know there is a man out there

To love and cherish me

A man who can handle what I look like

Naturally

Instead of being disgusted and run away.

To you the reader of my poem

I want to ask a question

Now do you understand the definition of homemade when it comes to family? To me, they are royal and I am never going to give up my tiara.

The little things..

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Leiann Lynn Rose Spontaneo

Studied Political Science at Duquesne University.

Highest Honors Graduate in Fitness and Nutrition from Stratford Career Institute.

Her future plans are to become an aromatherapist to help people with their ailments using essential oils.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.