Poets logo

HOMELESS

Somewhere to run but nowhere to live

By Albert AndrePublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
No home and not my fault

Out! Out! Out!... came a loud cry

And don't come back, was added at the end

Take that with you, and that! and that!.. and that!

A bag, a black bin liner and a cat

Bang, slam, lock followed and I'm in shock

I dropped to my bottom landing on the bag

Head in hands" what the Hell?" I asked

No answer came and I'm still in doubt

Is there a reason how this has come about

Maybe she doesn't love me

Or she's had enough, enough of this and that

That of me and Cybil, my Siamese cat

I can't sit here forever I'll have to make a move

Need to find my mobile phone and ring my friend up; Matt

Oh I've just remembered, she didn't give me that

Not to worry Daniel, just get your things together and stuff them in the car

Don't forget the cat, Cybil; Cybil! Cybil! in you get

home for a little while

That's it, all in, but who's house do I drive to?

Tom's? Dick's? or Harry's? or maybe even mums?

Who knows, I'll just start driving and see where it goes

Five miles later, I'm stopping to have a cup of tea and a scone

Still not really knowing where to sleep, Eureka! I'll stop at mums

"I'm sure she'll be glad to see me" I told myself

"but not today" I reasoned, as it's getting very late

Not going to bother no one, I'll park the car right here

It's quiet and secluded and I should not be disturbed

Winding down the cars front seat will give me all the space I need

This large overcoat will serve me as a cover

I'll be snug and cosy and if I leave the engine running I'll be warm

One night, two nights passed sleeping in my car

Don't think I could do a third night

I'm going to my sister Claud, she'll let me have her couch

It was only for a day or two, then I went to mums

I didn't beg, steal but borrowed and that's what got me through

Bet you never thought or guessed that I was 'HOMELESS'

Well think again... I'm not, but oh so CLOSE!

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Albert Andre

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.