Poets logo

Homecoming

an original poem by Jason White

By Jason WhitePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Homecoming
Photo by Ján Jakub Naništa on Unsplash

This is not the homecoming I planned. I thought I escaped only to come back to burn it all to the ground. I lived my whole life for them. Tried to change their broken ways and lost myself along the way. Now I carry their burdens on my hands. So many years it took me to become who I am. Everything opposite of who they thought I should become. I knew I'd face the ridicule for missing his funeral. I couldn't even understand why I had come. I hated them for so long. I still carry some of the burdens they fashioned for me. Maybe I am here to give them back. Maybe I am more human than I thought myself to be. When I enter through these doors I may never return. I will never be the same again. Pray for me as I will pray for her swift passing.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Jason White

Jason White is a father, a grandfather, knowledge seeker and sharer. Jason is the owner of Growth Positive Consulting where he puts his fundraising and management skills to great use. He is a writer, a woodworker, and a philanthropist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.