Poets logo

Home

A Poem for Miranda

By Tyler C ClarkPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Home
Photo by Pawel Czerwinski on Unsplash

I like it when you send me pictures of houses.

It's fun to covet the walk-in showers,

the glowing countertops,

the curated rock gardens.

We're like a pair of broke hermit crabs window shopping at Tiffany's,

fantasizing of squeezing our asses into some diamond-encrusted seashells.

Envy gets you high on pain, but

I was cured of the disease when you got sick.

The night you spent in the emergency room

I couldn't stop thinking of those houses;

they're nothing but cold sculptures,

still-life imitations of living spaces—

bricks, tiles, and granite encasing nothing.

I understand what home means now,

because all night my thoughts scratched in circles

like a record needle sucking up the vibrations of a heartbreak:

Come home, babe. Please come home. Just come home.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Tyler C Clark

I'm a poet who discovered a love for fiction. This seems like a good place to stretch my legs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.