Poets logo

Home Wasn't Right For Me

A True Story

By L. J. Knight Published 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Home Wasn't Right For Me
Photo by Sun Lingyan on Unsplash

Home wasn’t right for me

They’d shut every door I turned to face

And pulled the blinds closed over my eyes

The sun was a distant memory

As darkness shrouded me in its cloak

-

I sat on the porch rooftop

My eyes tracing the lines in the stars

With tears dripping onto the backs of my hands

To remind me

That home wasn’t right for me

-

Home wasn’t right for me.

Around every corner, I came face-to-face with fear

In every eye, I saw pain reflected back at me

Even on the bathroom tiles, my misery stared up at me

Through pale skin and sunken eyes

-

I huddled on the floor

Arms wrapped tight around my legs

With fingernails digging crescent moons into my calves

I couldn’t get enough breath in my lungs

Gasping for the air that was just beyond my reach

Telling me

Home wasn’t right for me

-

Home wasn’t right for me

Panic clawed at my chest

As my fingers snatched my clothes off the floor

And stuffed them in the suitcase

I gathered only what I needed

And left the rest behind

-

I slid into the passenger seat

Of my best friend’s car

And rolled up the windows

Turning my eyes away when they tried to keep me under their thumb

Because I was no longer blind that

Home wasn’t right for me

-

Home wasn’t right for me

Because it had never been a place

And it had never been a person

Home was a feeling

And I couldn’t feel it there

-

Nervous energy spun in my stomach

And I struggled to close my eyes

What had I just done?

But the warmth in my chest

And the sparkle behind my eyes

The lightness of my laugh

And the tingle in my fingers

Told me that

Home was right for me

-

Two weeks ago to the day, my entire life changed.

I sat up in my bed at 2am, texting my best friend. The last two nights Id gone out with them, I'd had panic attacks about coming home. My past had come back to haunt me, and I couldn't shake off its hold.

How would I get to class?

What about my plants, my pets?

Who would be okay with this?

What about my brothers?

And the fear, what about the fear?

Then three words that sold my fate.

Come get me.

It was 2am, and my best friend drove 30 minutes to my house as I threw all my stuff into my bookbag and a small suitcase. I crept down the stairs to the front door, setting down my stuff so I could briefly tell my mother what was happening before it happened.

And then I left.

My home wasn't right for me.

And I'd known that for a while. I'd reached out. I'd begged. I'd tried. I'd fought. But no one would help me. No one would save me.

I was hurting, suffering, dying, but no one seemed to care.

And then I met my best friend, and they saw, they heard, they cared. And they weren't afraid.

I turned my whole world upside down in a decision that took less than thirty minutes. It was impuslive and reckless and it hurt people, and I don't know if I regret it or not, but I did it. And I did it for me.

I chose to rescue myself. I chose to take the hand offered to me. I chose to help myself so that I could go back and help my brothers.

Home wasn't safe.

Home wasn't kind.

Home wasn't loving.

Home wasn't right.

So, I found one that was.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

L. J. Knight

I'm the girl who writes poetry in coffee shops, who walks the halls with a book under her nose, lost in her thoughts. I'm the girl with the quiet voice and the smart eyes, the one who dreams for the moon and hopes to land among stars.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.