Poets logo

Home Thieves

"Those Thieving foxes will take everything we know."

By Anarchy KnightPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

They came in the day,

To take away what is ours,

Ringmaster told us to pray,

During the last few hours.

How could they do this to us,

Take away our home of false promises,

They said we could talk but there was nothing to discuss,

Who they were was anonymous.

We back up our boxes,

As we ready to go,

Those thieving foxes,

Will take everything we know.

“Sparrow, come on honey. It's not that bad! We will just have to find another place to settle,” says Jest. I narrow my eyes and puff out my chest.

“Not bad you say. It's only your way to think such a way! But you are right to come what will and what may, we can’t and will not stay,” I admit. He is right, the old wise misfit.

“Come on then deary. It's time to meet them then be on our way. You don’t even have to speak to them!” Jest smiles. Is it only me that doesn't want us to be treated as lowly exiles?

I nod my head, for I do not have the words.

The only ones truly happy are the birds.

They flutter their wings longing to fly.

You and I, my friends, you and I.

Jest and I walk down to the pier where everyone is to meet.

Not crying now is a hellish feat.

This is my home, I wish to scream!

I wish this was all a hopelessly bad dream.

Three figures stood in shadows stand at the edge of the peer.

Though some said they were beautiful most lovely things are not what they appear.

I raise my head high and hold my shoulders back.

All the while, my nails turn to claws and long to attack.

This is my home, not theirs.

No other land will ever compare.

Now can they stand there proudly,

While in my head I weep loudly.

My narrow blue eyes as they meet bloody red,

As I think that they would be more beautiful dead,

An amused smile plays on his lips,

While elegant white hair flies in tiny wisps.

I look at him fearlessly when I feel nothing but fear,

But don't you see that a game I hold most dear?

Lies are what I spin as effortlessly as spiders silk,

So I stand there as emotionless as Sir Wilk.

He laughs and laughs until he can laugh no more,

While I glare colder than I ever have before,

Now he laughs at my feeble attempt to be strong,

Why must murder be wrong?

“Where did you get her? She is simply adorable.”

This man is simply horrible!

Part two of Sparrow on her journey to break the curse. Her home gets stolen by the mysterious "Home Thieves" and she retaliated as well as she can.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.