Poets logo

Home

1/3/20

By Under-productive GirlPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
4

I remember what it was like to grow up in a home.

No matter where I was,

Who I was with,

I always had a safe place to be.

I place where I belonged

Home.

A silly word.

A silly feeling.

A watered down expression that means nothing if you have no where else to go.

It hurts knowing that where I grew,

where I cried, bled, and held tight to hopes and dreams,

has turned into nothing but a structure.

A living space for despair and toxicity.

All the heat has left the house -

all the joy and comfort.

Gone.

Sucked out the front door.

Now, evil walks in and out, and it does not care about anyone but itself.

Home.

That's my home.

A deep dark hole, decorated with fairy lights and vanilla scented candles to mask the smell of decay.

It's not cute anymore,

to have a home become a cold, dark tomb;

to scream at loved ones, "This is how it is now! This is how everyone's home is!"

It's not.

Not everyone has a home this sad, lonely and bruised...

Now, I have learned to become my own home.

I am the roof, the front door and windows...

God, this house is cold too.

Maybe it is because I am the only one living here;

or maybe it is the fact that I took nothing with me, when I left the old.

I could invite some people in... host a party to celebrate the independence of me.

Light a fire and let the warm glow fill me -

charge me with peace.

That's my home...

My body,

my mind,

my spirit.

I have less walls, but more breathing space.

When I sit alone, I am home.

When am with you, I am home.

When I am driving, I am home.

When I am walking, running, crying, being... I am home.

And no one can desecrate what I am -

the home I am.

sad poetry
4

About the Creator

Under-productive Girl

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.