Poets logo

Home at Last

an explanation.

By Alex BarbuPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Home at Last.

And when this journey’s over, I know I seized the day,

I’m headed for my Home, a place where I can stay.

No matter where I go, I’m not too far away,

Because Home’s not a place from which you’ll ever stray.

I know Home is a house, a home can be a tree,

My Home was Cherryhill, my Home was you and me.

My Home is everywhere, no matter where I’ll be.

Home’s not a destination, it is the whole journey.

There’s no more kissing lips, there’s no more me and you,

I thought I’d lost my Home, did not know what to do,

But you were never Home, here’s one more thing that’s true:

I’m never more at peace than now, here, without you.

I was never at Home just sitting all alone.

I thought it was a palace, Home had to be the throne.

I thought that Home was safety, you could not break a bone.

As I was to discover- safety does not mean Home.

For safety’s isolation, safety inspires fear.

Safety’s what disallowed me to whisper in your ear.

But Home is taking risks- it’s cascade water clear

To be at Home means speaking to those who love to hear.

And me? I loved your thoughts. I loved to hear you sing.

I loved to hear your voice, I thought about a ring

I loved to play guitar, no matter what the string.

I loved to feel your love, regardless of the sting.

And although that’s all gone, I do not miss the past

I thought that it was perfect, but knew it wouldn’t last.

My broken bones have healed, my heart’s still in a cast-

But what I know for sure is- now I’m Home at last.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.