Poets logo

Hollow Girl

the face of complex trauma

By Nicholle MichellePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Hollow Girl
Photo by Patrik Velich on Unsplash

My soul is dying, you can tell by my eyes

My heart is aching, but that should come as no surprise

I see myself in the mirror, but I don't look the same

Something is different, something has changed

I don't recognize myself, I don't recognize my face

Who is this hollow girl that has taken my place?

Her eyes are dark, they've lost their usual spark

The array of browns and specks of gold they lack

They have become a new color -- some shade of black

The windows to my soul are empty and blank

Who should I blame? Cause there's no one to thank

The rest of my face has become pale too

My lips are lacking their usual hue

They have gone from vibrant pink to practically white

As if I've seen a ghost and am now filled with fright

My sun-kissed face is missing it's usual glow

Where has all my color drained to? I really don't know

Perhaps it's retreated deep inside to comfort my soul

To provide it some color….to make it feel beautiful

Or maybe it has faded away with my happiness and dreams

Because isn't that life? Nothing is ever what it seems

Nicholle Michelle 2007

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.