Poets logo

Hockney

poem about painting

By Didi MenendezPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
1

I wonder if he talks about Hockney to others

or if he just does that with me?

And what if I wanted to just brush black circular

motions like a long playing vinyl record onto a canvas

as I listen to Happiness Is A Warm Gun? And what of it?

Do you think that I really want to sit in an uncomfortable

chair and watch the paint dry? I will lay it on thick

just like all those dicks I held deep into my throat

while a moan escaped a stoic prick. And what of it?

What if all I all I want to do is slap oil paint on that canvas

heavy without rhyme or reason other than to watch gravity

pull it down? What if all I want is to smoke clove cigarettes

and swallow the molasses like whiskey letting it slug down

my throat because that is all I remember about love?

art
1

About the Creator

Didi Menendez

I write about isolation.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Shaun V.about a year ago

    Then I would ask -"Is it Friday already?"

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.