Poets logo

His Shallow Grave

barely covers his cowardly soul

By KJ AartilaPublished about a year ago 1 min read
3
His Shallow Grave
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

He took silent souvenirs from us

and buried his dirty treasures.

now I will uncover his tainted grave

to remove those hidden pieces

***

from the shallow ground

***

I weild the heavy shovel

to make a territory claim

upon the soiled mound

which hides his brittle skeleton

***

he thinks is safely in the ground

***

My words will penetrate the Earth

that blankets his cold soul

to release the hearts he carried

for way too many years

***

it’s time to stand my ground

***

Maybe others will stand behind me,

or am I still alone?

I know I’m not the only one

disrupted by his ego.

***

I claim this as my ground.

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Knowing more on your background I can better understand the information of poems that you write such as this one. It all makes sense. Very well done thank you.

  • That is brilliantly vicious.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.