Poets logo

Hide and seek

//what are you hiding from?

By W. J. Bradford IIIPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Ig: thesadder_chapter

What was I hiding from?

Maybe the thought of being the best version of myself. The pressures of being the bigger person and the weight you take on when you’re not numb to the flow of emotions around you.

I understood the reality of empathy,

feeling for someone, hurting for them.

I guess I was hiding from their pain.

The things that would force me to face my own traumas, emotions that would lead me to seek out the root of my imbedded melancholy and unclothe scars I’d been hiding from. While I sit quietly in the shadows as the ghosts of my memories slowly creeps by. The light peeks through the cracks of the door while I tremble.

When these thoughts pass,

the light dims on my face as I stare into

a familiar darkness;

A cold that feels like home.

Wrapped in its chilling whisper,

the embrace sucks me into faded Polaroids and sends me spiraling down into nostalgia. Burned memories and hazy recollections callous my mind as I try harder and harder to remember the good times. I was hiding from my own shadows.

My monsters.

The things in my closet next to my shiny skeletons.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

W. J. Bradford III

my name is William Bradford III

I write poetry and create content surround each subject.

Ig:thesadder_chapter

Fb:thesadderchapter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.