Poets logo

Hidden Past

By Waters

By K. WaterssPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

My history was passed down from my granny and her mom before her

like whispers at your bed

My history was woven in my head like the cornroles I had to tighten up with a scarf before I rest

My history was covered up and white washed

My history for a long time was lost

My history carries pain that strong minds recognize as strength

My history is to do so without wishin thank you

My history was taught to me brutally

All eyes to see

Because my history wasn't always for me to see

hidden

My history hides behind a simple goodbye way of life

because my history knows how to cry at night

My history like music in the streets you hear me

But do you dare join in

LOVE is my History

social commentary
1

About the Creator

K. Waterss

Poetry has been my life for as long as I can remember. It's the only other thing besides my daughter that makes sense to me most days.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.