Poets logo

Hey Black Man!

A poem about a man

By christopher clintonPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
2
Christopher Clinton

Hey black man how u doing where you been?

Probably doing black stuff cuz' there you go again

Standing on the corner selling drugs, drinking beer

I don't know, at least that’s what I hear.

I don’t really know because I don’t deal with you

But other people tell me so I choose to believe them too.

I’m really scared of you black man because I choose to be

If only you could see in my mind what you did to me

You stole my purse and raped my women just by standing there

And what the heck is happening with your hair

Braids and dreads and Afros are what you like to wear

I feel uncomfortable when you wear that stuff in here

Your African cultured locs make u look like a thug

I feel like I can’t walk near you or else I will get mugged.

Hey black man how u doing where u been?

Probably in jail cuz' I got arrested again

Sitting at a Starbucks and they called the police on me

They were looking for me to start some stuff as soon as I walked in

When I did not act a fool they started crap with me

Asking you why haven’t you bought some coffee or food

Your black skin in a sea of white is messing up the mood

All the white folks are doing the same thing, but not being harassed

But because I’m black and they’re scared of me they’ll arrest your ass.

Hey black man how u doing where u been?

I’m not coming back because I got shot again

They said I was resisting and I had a gun

They said I was threatening when I chose to run

The cop was scared for his life for no reason again

So he decided to take my life because of my skin

Hey black man how you doing where you been?

Probably going to work because I have kids to feed

I have a family like you and I’m grinding because of needs

I’m just like you in that I want that better life

I walk on two legs, have a head and a mouth, kids and a wife

I have a first and last name

We deal with struggles the same

Struggle is real and in our lives we still deal with the same shit everyday

The difference is because of your history I should be scared of you

You have raped and pillaged and killed and converted history has shown this to be true .

social commentary
2

About the Creator

christopher clinton

My name is Christopher Clinton and I’m from Columbia SC. I moved to Washington DC a few years ago so that I could start anew life. I have a 10 year old son and I love to create music and write poetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.