Poets logo

Hey Bird

A One-sided Conversation

By Dennia LynnePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Yeah, bird. Sing your heart out.

Hey, bird

What are you so happy about?

Don’t you know

Your habitat is shrinking?

Getting hotter every year?

Innocent people getting shot?

Nah

You don’t care much about people

do you.

Hey, we fill your feeders

When it gets cold around here

It’s hard to fill birdy tummies then

Isn’t it.

Are you the least bit grateful?

Are you listening?

Hey, bird!

What song are you singing?

It’s a pretty song

I think maybe

too repetitious

I know.

You don’t care what I think.

What do I know?

Huh.

reminds me of a guy

Not a pleasant memory.

Hey, bird,

Are you singing to impress a girl?

Wanting to screw her, bird?

Yeah, probably.

You’re just like other guys.

Hey, bird,

Let me tell you about guys.

Nah, you wouldn’t be interested.

You’re too happy and noisy up there

You wouldn’t hear a thing.

Preoccupied

Huh.

Another guy comes to mind

Yeah, bird,

Sing your heart out

Why listen to me down here?

Why listen to a woman?

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Dennia Lynne

It’s not so much about who I am. it’s about what I write. ‘Least, ideally that’s all you need to know. I’ll add that I’m an artist. I’m musical, creative. I write poems about my faith, love, wonder, life. I observe; I feel; I cry; I’m real.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.