Poets logo

Her voice could topple the mightiest look

Ballad for the lost

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
5
Her voice could topple the mightiest look
Photo by Kurt Cotoaga on Unsplash

Poem for the film The Ballad of Narayama

She is on the top of the mountain

Honored and regal

I cannot look back,

She held me as a wailing infant, yet I cannot keep her in my fearful embrace

Why does the mountain not crumble?

Why Does it stand so proudly?

What did it do to be so strong?

She’s weathered storms and thunder,

And stands just as tall.

She’s a ballad in physical shape,

My mother

Goes to the top of the world to keep

Us down below, quietly afflicted with reality.

art
5

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.