Poets logo

Her

a poem of anxieties

By Cameron KurtzPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Her
Photo by Johannes Roth on Unsplash

I wish that I had her

Here in my arms

Where I know she’d have safety

Safe from all harm.

Instead she’s alone,

Well, who really knows?

Not me, not my brain,

And anxiety shows.

It pops it’s head out,

Out from the shadows

Of repression and false confidence,

Away from it’s meadows.

My brain overthinks,

I feel it’s strong heat,

As the ache in my brain,

Starts to make me feel beat.

I worry and worry,

I worry some more.

I try to forget it,

It leaves me quiet sore.

If there’s one thing I love,

On this miserable planet,

I know that it’s her,

And again, I panic.

I panic that she

Might no longer be with me

Not in this world,

The anxiety hits me.

I want to go see her

Though it’s 3 in the morning,

She hasn’t replied,

And I feared for the warning,

That my cards gave me earlier,

A few days ago,

“You might lose a friend,

You’ll be forced to let go.”

So I sit on my mattress,

Sprawled on the floor,

Wondering if ever

I’ll talk to her more.

If there’s one thing,

I simply can’t handle,

It’s being without her,

And I think of the candle.

It’s stupid, I know,

To think of such a thing,

“Your soulmate may be gone,

And that’s what you think?”

Well yes and no,

It’s simple you see,

It’s just basic memories

Between her and me.

I remember the candle

She longed to have,

I would get it for her,

Some day, and I’d be glad.

But the money is tight,

I need to save up,

Should I worry about me?

Or just bottle it up?

While I have

So many responsibilities,

I worry for no one,

Except for she.

She is my whole world,

And I can’t live without her,

So if she’s not here,

Why would I bother?

My message is open

Sent two hours before,

I sit and I wait here,

I feel like a bore.

I feel bad for my roommate

Who graciously took me in,

I now sit on her floor,

Thinking of then.

Worried that memories,

Will never be new,

All that I have

The so very few.

I start to feel tired

But I can’t fall asleep

I have to wait for her

I have yet to hear a peep.

She hasn’t said anything,

Time has passed by,

I’m afraid it’s too long,

I want to cry.

I panic and wonder,

Should I drive out?

No, that’s too risky,

There’s no need to pout.

But I’m endlessly worried,

My heart starts to tremble,

Everything’s hurting,

My brain starts to crumble.

I know i can’t take

Staying up later,

But I feel the need to,

Until I know she’s better.

“If there’s anything

I could ever do,

I’d drop it all,

Just for you.”

If there is one thing,

I wish I could say,

It’s, “I love you, baby,

And I wish you would stay.”

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Cameron Kurtz

Crap, I’ve never been good with bios 😳

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.