Poets logo

Her Escape

by Mel

By MelPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Most people find freedom in

the safety of their home.

Or maybe they'll find it in

the arms of a loved one;

like a family member such as a mother or grandmother.

Some even find freedom in

the care of a close best friend.

But me?

I found my freedom in

the safety of the sky;

the roaring of the plane as it lifts into the air,

the footsteps of the flight attendants as they walked down the aisles,

or even the views of the clouds overlapping over each other

as humanity below became smaller and smaller to the very eye.

Some people will never understand,

some will just assume I'm just wasting away money,

but I find some sort of peace being in the sky.

Why, you may ask?

I don't know.

It all started about four years ago,

back when I traveled by myself for the first time ever,

back before I ever knew what I was about

to get myself into.

There's just a calming feeling to

being up in the air.

You put on a pair of headphones,

stare out the window as the plane descends into the thin layer of clouds,

and that peace just overcomes everything else.

Negative thoughts?

Nope.

Intrusive feelings?

Nope.

Not here,

not in this.

It's safe.

It's my home.

This is where I'm supposed to be.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Mel

Ever since I was a kid, I've always wrote for fun. I never saw anything of it; I just wanted to write just to write. That's why I love Vocal.

she/they

instagram: stufflestream

tiktok: mercuryandme

youtube: Melon Melon | TheMelonVlogs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.