Poets logo

Her.

Bygone

By Angelica de JesusPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Even today when I look into the mirror I see her with me

Lost is what I feel when I dream of that small girl

A soft smile on her lips but something is awry

I know who she is. The brown wavy hair and dark eyes, paler skin and small frame.

Never has she been sad to see me but I know she waits for someone else too

Even today her name graces my lips, a child I never knew.

Often, it’s amazing to see her but I never seem to be able to reach her,

Leaving her is never easy but before I wake I let her know

“I’ll let you in my dreams if I can be in yours”

Vital memories of the quote, its something the other person used to say to me

Initially, she was supposed to mean nothing to me but,

An angel’s voice reminds me of her.

Little do people know the young one has a name.

Enough waiting you see, for even when I am not asleep

Visions of her in my daydreams now more frequently

About time I think

Call out her name, into the wisps of the air which are the only other things to know it

Quite odd, I know to love something I never really knew were real

Unusual to name a figure that appeared in false fantasy but,

Even today, I say her name as if she were real, much like her name she is my shining light.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Angelica de Jesus

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.