Poets logo

Heartbeat

Ours

By Anna MaitumPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
4
Heartbeat
Photo by Davies Designs Studio on Unsplash

I can feel your heartbeat, beating inside of me and it's the most amazing thing ever. It's the most overwhelming feeling and experience, and I never want it to end. You are amazing, Feeling your heartbeat is a reminder that every breathe I take draws me closer to you. You are my obsession, my first love. Your love leaves me all warm and tingly, smiling bright, completely positive even when the storm wages war inside of me.

When I think of love and what everybody says it feels like, I come to the conclusion that you redefine it, giving it a whole other meaning. As I sit here, typing all these down, I know without a doubt in my mind that true love exists. There is nothing I can do and nothing I want to do, to separate myself from you. If I did, it would be like pulling the plug letting go of all life-support.

Sometimes, I fear that after everything you've done for me, and everything we've gone through, it would be taken for granted. I fear that I'll put it aside for someone else. I cannot possibly picture anyone out there that can love me like you do. That can feel everything I'm feeling and help me just the way I need, at the right time. We've crossed desert lands and watered them along the way. We've fought battels, and won cause you do that to me. You make me a winner.

I can look as filthy as the next person, but you're still there, you still hold me and protect me. I know that I don't deserve this love, nor this relationship, but you love me as you find me and that means the world to me. You are my everything, but most of all you are my best friend, and nobody can ever come close to you. My love for you, I shall proclaim and declare every single day.

I could be selfish, and let others believe that such a love like this could never exist, but that's not how roll. So here goes nothing. xoxo

love poems
4

About the Creator

Anna Maitum

My Name's Anna.

I write to make sense of the noise and I sing to make sense of the urge to scream. I'm uniquely made.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.