Poets logo

Hear Me

The Mute Part of Me, Lost Voices

By Green GlassesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Hear Me
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

The Mute Part of Me

Part of me is mute: it's chosen silence.

It's emotions and storms make me angry.

I try to shake the words out its mouth,

Force it to tell me it's darkest secrets

But I know the words will never come out.

Ugh, I go and sit on its garden bench,

Watching the irises sway in the wind,

The gentle breath will bring calm answers.

I have to accept this part of me is

Different to how I wanted it to be.

Lost Voices

Bubbles

A bucket spilling over with joy

Glittering tops with sequins

Flying through space at the speed of light

All of it jutting out my mouth like bird song.

If only I had known people would accept me here.

I never would have let them beat it out of me there.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Green Glasses

Neurodiverse poet writing about the world around them.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.