Poets logo

Heading Down The Road

Going Nowhere

By Jeffrey Pipes GuicePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Heading down the road

Going nowhere...

Trying to get away

From my obsessions...

Tired of feeling like

I’m always out there...

Searching for the answers

To my questions...

Just a drunk

Wiping off my last hurl...

Down and out

Seeking just a warm bed...

All alone

Wishing for a nice girl...

With a bosom

On which to place my tired head...

Searching for

That promise of a new life...

Praying for relief

From my confessions...

Heading in the direction

Of going elsewhere...

Open to anyone’s good suggestions...

I’d like to find

A nice sober lady...

One who wants to share

My few possessions...

Heading down the road

Leading somewhere...

Hoping to make some big impressions...

Just a drunk

Diving for my last meal...

Down and out

Craving just a warm bed...

All alone

Seeking just a nice field...

With a bed of green grass

On which to place my tired head...

© 2020 Jeffrey Pipes Guice

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Jeffrey Pipes Guice

Jeffrey worked for years in New York City and Washington D.C. while traveling throughout Europe, Africa, Asia, and even spent some time in Antarctica. But the true discoveries came from inside himself, and that poetic journey is shown here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.