Poets logo

Harriet: Rebel of the Underground Railroad.

A Juneteenth tribute to Harriet Tubman.

By Joe PattersonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - June 2022
18

In a time where Black Americans needed resolution, Harriet Tubman stood at the forefront of revolution.

For decades she had to watch her people bathe in pain and created a way to escape the pain.

She looked up to the Heavens and the father she trust, because obtaining freedom was a definite must.

Looking at her chances she knew doubt was here, but told herself "I'm gonna make it out of here, without a doubt or fear".

Being treated as property doesn't fit me and when I leave this horrible place I'll take my family with me.

Not just the ones who share my mother's face, but also my sisters and brothers in race.

She knew as a child that she would live life as a slave, but made a promise not to die as a slave.

She also knew that she would lead other slaves to freedom in time and made sure to never leave them behind.

Harriet had a head wound that gave her premonitions that she said came from the Heavens that led her on her mission.

On the road to this revolution and fighting back came a unified front led by both Whites and Blacks.

To this day we thank her for the courage she gave. In her heart she was brave and many lives did she save from the chains of a slave.

inspirational
18

About the Creator

Joe Patterson

Hi I'm Joe Patterson. I am a writer at heart who is a big geek for film, music, and literature, which have all inspired me to be a writer. I rap, write stories both short and long, and I'm also aspiring to be an author and a filmmaker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    Powerful and strong - she was a great woman with a profound story!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Powerful and so full of emotion. Well done :)

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    I felt your love, appreciation, and respect for her through your words. Beautifully done!

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    I love the personal touch you put into this poem. It as if you were talking about a personal friend or family member. You made Harriet Tubman relatable on a personal level. Great work.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Fantastic!!! 💖💕

  • I really liked how the writer spoke of Harriet Tubman, as if she were a personal friend of his, this allowed me to feel the softness of this woman.

  • a warm salute to such iron lady.

  • Call Me Les2 years ago

    I would love to include this in the magazine's upcoming Juneteenth special! Let me know what you think. Link to the mag in my profile. <3 Cheers!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.