Poets logo

Happy Mother's Day & Happy Birthday!

Dedicated to the Superwoman in my life, my lovely Amma!

By Dharrsheena Raja SegarranPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
36
Happy Mother's Day & Happy Birthday!
Photo by Timothy Dykes on Unsplash

My Mom's birthday is on the 9th of May

The day after we celebrate Mother's Day

Which happens to fall on the 8th of May

But I want her to be happy every single day

~~~

Her beautiful name is Selvarani

For short, everyone calls her Rani

In my mother tongue Tamil, Rani means Queen

Which became meaningless, her life unforeseen

~~~

She cooks for me daily

She even does my laundry

Cleans the house constantly

To help with my depression and anxiety

~~~

She has never taken a day off sick

She's undeniably a Superwoman

She can never be replaced as she's unique

She's a Goddess in the body of a human

~~~

She has sacrificed so much in life

She has always put me first

Her life always came second to mine

She's always the best, even at her worst

~~~

I never deserved a Mother like her

I've made her cry so many times

I hate myself for hurting her

Because I love her, although she may have missed the signs

~~~

This poem is dedicated to my one and only Amma

I wish you a very Happy Mother's Day and Birthday

I'm so grateful to have a Mother like you Ma

May God make all your problems go away

~~~

I LOVE YOU, AMMA! ❤️😘💐
__________________________________________
Thank you so much for reading this! 🥰 If you liked my writing, please leave a comment, click the heart and subscribe for free!

You might enjoy this as well:










performance poetry
36

About the Creator

Dharrsheena Raja Segarran

My mental health decline brought about a lot of darkness and I embraced it. It now flows out mostly as Dark Stories and Poetry.

❤️ Erythrophile ❤️
✨️Glitteringly Savage✨️
🖤 Elegantly Disturbed Mind 🖤

Instagram 🤍 Facebook 🤍 Threads

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writer3 months ago

    Awe this was so sweet. Your Amma sounds Amazing.

  • Denise E Lindquist6 months ago

    My mother was a very giving mother. I missed her reading your tribute to your mother. We didn't always get along. She would do my worst jobs once I was married with children. Clean the oven, refrigerator, freezer, for example. She even came in and cleaned my office at work. When she died I was taking care of her for many months. I had no regrets about our relationship as we worked everything out.❤️

  • Pauline Fountain11 months ago

    How beautiful Dharrsheena, I too am blessed with a Mother like yours ~ one beloved. Selvarani - what an enchanting name. So heartfelt and honest. It’s a beautiful to way to express your love. Pauline 🌸

  • Gideon 6ix2 years ago

    A wonderful way to honor your mother- thank you for sharing!

  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    This is wonderful! I love your deep appreciation for your mom and all she does for you. Your mother has raised a daughter that is a wonderful, appreciative, giving person. And I am sure she is very proud of you.

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    Aww, this made me tear up :) What a sweet tribute to your Amma. She sounds like an amazing mother that raised a kind and thoughtful daughter. Beautiful.

  • This comment has been deleted

  • K. Wisendanger 2 years ago

    Heart felt

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.