Poets logo

Happy Mother’s Day

Karma

By Coralie SickmannPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

And so I welcome you my son

On this my Mother’s Day

A day to count my blessings

And to chase my fears away

Fears of living, loving, losing

And the price we all must pay.

Reeling off my moans and groans

Trying not to hear you sigh

Of how the cold affects my bones and money just seems to fly

And of how the world keeps changing

But I can’t keep up with why.

Bringing back those memories

Of when you were young and kind

Reeling off the stories, pulling all the ties that bind

For the young lack tact and patience

They consume life at full speed

Spurred on by ambition, by dreams and plans and greed.

There’s no time to do that now, and time just seems to fly

'Til hours become days, and days become weeks

And months and years pass by

I too was young and silly once

And could only do my best

So remember the times that we enjoyed

And don’t dwell on all the rest

Speak kindly of me to my grandchildren

And try to include me in things that you do

For the days at home seem oh so long

And it means so little to you

Remember you’ll grow old and lonely

And the hours that fly so fast

Can never be repeated

Once they fade into the past.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.