Poets logo

Happiness or the Lack Thereof

Learning to allow myself to accept love and happiness

By Kendra DanayPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Francisco Moreno on Unsplash

What if a lifetime of unhappiness has left me with a deep seated love for tragedy?

What if a decade of daydreaming about what happiness looks like has left me unsatisfied with anything less then the fairytales I’ve made in my head?

What if I’m marked with the same dark self destruction that runs through my parents’ veins, unable to fight for the betterment of self even if that means hurting the ones I love?

I love him, and he’s way better then any daydream that I could think up and so why do I feel like we’re falling apart when we’re doing just fine?

Why do I push him away when he treats me like gold?

Why am I begging him for security that he doesn’t owe me after only a year?

Why do I give him a chance to walk out and leave every other day?

And why does he stay?

I’m a bomb with a timer.

The product of hate and addiction and secrets and trauma and infidelity and violence.

I’m a sinking boat, so why doesn’t he jump ship?

Or a better question would be why am I unable to love the ship I'm in, in the way that he has?

Why haven't I learned to enjoy the sail even if it's a little bumpy at times?

This ship has been through a lot, but she still runs and she's still great, so why am I so incapable of loving her that I'm having a hard time believing that someone else does?

If someone is willing to love this ship, dents and scratches and all, then why would I try to stop them?

If someone is willing to love me, scars and insecurities and all, then why would I try to stop them?

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Kendra Danay

22 - Lover of People - I'll fight for you - Musician - Saved by Grace

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.