Poets logo

Hanging with the greats

Words to write by

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
7
Hanging with the greats
Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

I wanna write something that’s poignant

Something to move you to move

I wanna make points so that you feel it

I’ve got emotions with something to prove.

When you read it, I want you to have to.

The ability to stop you resist,

Leave you begging for more like its voodoo.

It’s the very air you need to exist

A kind of imagined communication

Leaves you feeling you’ve traveled through time

To a place you never knew existed

Because I created it here in my mind

The adventure of words seem diminished

They’ve been watered down weakened somehow

I feel what I want to accomplish

Is to fill them back up with power

If I want you to move, I should move you

If I need you to laugh or to cry

The power of my words should control the mood

And if I tell you to jump, you respond , how high?!

You remember the books that moved your emotions

And the author who held all the cards

I want to recreate those situations

Stroll down adventures boulevard

Explode all the senses

Send your mind on vacation

Spare no expense

Consider this a writers inflation

Pump it up push it out

Its what Hemingway and Twain

Got excited about

From Dickens, to Rowlings, Tolkien to Lee

With inspiration like this, then why shouldn’t we

Exasperate the language

Use words as eyes and feet

Never mind boundaries take full advantage

Travel whilst never leaving your seat

Yes, I wanna write something that’s poignant

So, Sit back and enjoy the ride

If you need or want to make a suggestion

Read it again, it may have just been implied

performance poetry
7

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.