Poets logo

HANGING MY HEAD LOW

Fighting, the Devil, and Hope.

By Jesse GorbetPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I have made it thru blow after blow,

To many days my head hung low,

Not knowing how to cope,

Feeling like there was no hope,

Danced with the devil,

Thoughts of pure evil,

Turned my back on the lord,

Had no use for his word,

Fighting my way thru each blow,

Hanging my head low,

Drinking myself to sleep every night,

Praying to be taken into the light,

With pistol in hand,

My one-way ticket to the promised land,

Freedom from the misery and pain,

Nothing to lose and nothing to gain,

Made it thru each blow,

No longer holding my head low,

No longer being held back,

Getting my life on track,

It's been a hell of a fight,

I finally feel the light,

Everyone has moved on,

Who is going to miss me when I am gone?

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jesse Gorbet

My name is Jesse Gorbet. In my everyday life I am a concrete contractor. I live within the mountains of the Sierra Nevadas. I served 3 years in the United States army. I write in my spare time, and, I thank you for your time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.