Poets logo

Handsome

Is not enough

By Amanda McGuirePublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

I sit here as the music drifts along the cool night air. I sit here and my thoughts are only of you.

It’s the time of year when the sun gets stronger, warming the air and darkening the skin. Yet the nights remain chilly with remnants of the cooler air remaining. Nights when I want nothing more than to sit under the stars listening to you speak. Watching you smile as you share stories of your adventurous life.

I wonder if I bore you with stories of mine. I worry sometimes you’ll tire of me. But then you look at me, the way you did the first night we met.

My thoughts drift to that time and onward through all the months we’ve spent together, the moments we’ve shared.

Loving you has been easy, like breathing. Though sometimes I am overcome by the deepness of those feelings.

You understand me in ways I don’t even understand myself. I feel drawn to you, your presence is something I ache for when it has been too long without it.

Sitting beside you you know with a look what I need. You reach out your hand, and I place my hand in your palm. The slightest touch of your skin reassuring me, wiping away the overthinking I can’t seem to escape when we are apart.

There’s something about you, I can’t put into words. I’ve never been this attracted to someone in all my life. Handsome is not enough of a word to describe you. I’ve looked at other translations in other languages trying to find a word that fits. But there isn’t one.

To me you are the most handsome, sexy, amazing man. You are complex, only showing people parts of you, you want them to see. But you see and examine everything and everyone around you.

While I wonder sometimes if I’m enough, with all the half naked, model-like women who put themselves on display for you. All I know is, one minute with you, looking at me the way you do, and those doubts dissolve.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Amanda McGuire

Just a girl writing for fun… With a passion for helping others and striving to always be my most authentic self.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.