Poets logo

Half

We aren't missing any pieces, but sometimes we feel that way

By Bella LeonPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Half
Photo by Aaron Chavez on Unsplash

Strangers call for me but when I turn

my body to wave, they scream. One

leg, one arm, one eye, half a nose, and

my stomach feels empty.

The sound of snickering chills the

slim spine that hunches over to hide from

mirrors and shadows. Frankenstein’s monster!

The ground quakes, pickets become all

the rage, while children ask mommy if that’s

normal. I hope my halved brain retained

the creative side. Sink into the earth.

Melt into cool water. What is the point of being

alive when you find that missing puzzle pieces

means the entire box will be thrown out? Cries

echo louder from a mouth that cannot smile.

I empty a closet full of uniforms and

use the pieces to play Gepetto; I want to be a real girl.

One piece goes here. Here too. I found

another piece that fits. The night folds

into another. I forget to say hello to the sun for a fortnight.

Finally together. Two legs, two arms,

two eyes, but my nose is rounded

in the wrong place. Still, strangers

wail at the sight of a half girl, stitched together

by the leftover pieces of someone else’s uniform.

I want to be a real girl; I want to be a whole girl.

The girl who is touched by smiles, soaked in

hellos and goodnights. Real girls have two of

everything, and they don’t make people cry

and scream and laugh and point and gape. I wait for my

other half to find me: I am but a bird on a branch,

waiting for another to finally echo my cries.

__

As always, thank you for reading :)

Check out more of my poetry!

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Bella Leon

Welcome to my digital diary!

I have a vast but useless knowledge of cinema, and I just love to write.

You can expect to find random articles regarding various subjects, poetry, short stories, and anything film related. Happy reading <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.