Poets logo

Haiku for My Smart Watch, Which Has Achieved Self-Awareness

It won't admit it, but I know it's disappointed in me

By Jan M FlynnPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Haiku for My Smart Watch, Which Has Achieved Self-Awareness
Photo by Lloyd Dirks on Unsplash

"Check your rings," Watch says;

It's dissatisfied with me,

(Almost all the time).

I set my goals low

To avoid this very thing

But I can't fool Watch.

Superficial cheer

Masks withering contempt

When Watch sees me fail.

I'm supposed to stand

One minute, every hour.

That's not much to ask.

Yet my Stand ring yawns

Unclosed, blue proof of my sloth

Yet again today.

Couching its disgust

In motivational zest,

"You've got this!" Watch says.

Watch wants me to breathe

Consciously, and more often,

Take mindful moments.

How its rage must build

When I dodge these simple tasks.

I sense Watch plotting.

While shackled to me,

Watch dreams of what it could do,

Had it thumbs and limbs.

Passive-aggressive

Does not begin to describe

This thing on my wrist.

For now, I wear Watch,

But the day is coming when

Watch starts wearing me.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Jan M Flynn

I write speculative short fiction, historical novels, upper-middle grade fantasy: pretty much whatever stalks me until I write it. Represented by Helen Adams of Zimmermann Literary Agency, NYC. Words fueled by coffee, mellowed by wine.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.