Poets logo

Gunning For A Goodbye

I fell for you

By Frankie MartinelliPublished about a year ago 1 min read
4
Gunning For A Goodbye
Photo by Drew Beamer on Unsplash

If I was enough

Well this wouldn't hurt so much

If I was my friend

Maybe I could better understand

That was a lie

Maybe I'll never understand

You came and went

Maybe that's what love is like sometimes

You were always gunning for a goodbye

I played it cool then I fell for you

Knowing saying goodbye is what you are used to

I fell for you

When it gets too much

You know I'm there with extra love

Again and again

Still you never understand

I'm there when you cry

Always the one to help you stand

We were immense

You know I'd do it all again

You were always gunning for a goodbye

I played it cool then I fell for you

Knowing saying goodbye is what you are used to

I fell for you

love poems
4

About the Creator

Frankie Martinelli

Musician.

All work is copyrighted, and is my own.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    Wow, nice one❤️💯

  • Allie Bickertonabout a year ago

    Man, this really got me in the feels. The use of simple language was effective - raw and beautiful- I read it again and again like I listen to my favourite song and sit here crying sweet tears. Thank you!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.