Poets logo

Growing Up

Being a kid is fun.

By owenPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Growing Up
Photo by Edi Libedinsky on Unsplash

For best experience, listen to my music while reading this poem.

...

Grоwіng uр, I used to dream of being a star

Untіl reality set in and showed me who we are

Grоwіng uр, I thought money was the key

Untіl I learned that happiness is all I need

Grоwіng uр, I thought I knew what love was all about

Untіl I met my partner and they showed me what love's about

Grоwіng uр, I thought I had it all figured out

Untіl life threw me a curveball and I had to learn to scout

I'm on a journey, trying to find my way

Through the ups and downs, every single day

Grоwіng uр, I thought I had it all planned out

But now I know, it's just a journey with no route

Grоwіng uр, I thought success was all about fame

Untіl I realized it's about living life with no shame

Grоwіng uр, I thought I needed to impress

Untіl I learned to be myself, and that's the best

So now I'm living life, taking each day at a time

Laughing and smiling, making memories that are mine

Grоwіng uр, I thought I had to have it all

But now I know, it's the journey that makes life so small.

Grоwіng uр, I used to wannа be my Uncle Wayne

Untіl I saw his body layin' in the grave

Grоwіng up, I learned that life's not just a game

It's about living, loving, and making a change.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

owen

Composer, poet, and essayist, with a deep interest for philosophy, psychology, food, and interactive media. https://linktr.ee/wagyuadobo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Sabiha UHabout a year ago

    Some poets use their work as a way to process grief and loss.https://vocal.media/poets/a-red-red-rose

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.